Premier League

The reason why Lionel Messi overtook Haaland in The Best awards

The Argentine superstar defeated the Norwegian striker again

By Liam Styles

Erling Haaland was beat by Lionel Messi in The Best awards last gala.
Erling Haaland was beat by Lionel Messi in The Best awards last gala.
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

Lionel Messi won The Best award that recognizes the best footballer of the calendar year by FIFA, beating Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé, although he tied in the votes with the Norwegian, so the highest entity in world football resorted to the criterion of tie-breaker, which caused a great controversy among the fans.

De Bruyne rules Manchester City again in the Citizen’s 2-3 comeback in Newcastle

In this sense, it would be worth mentioning that the winner of the Qatar World Cup and the champion of the Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup earned 48 points each, while the Frenchman from PSG got 35, with Messi and Haaland remaining as the only options to win the award.

However, Messi was the winner thanks to article 12 of the Allocation Rules, which indicates that in the event of a tie, the player who is most voted for by the captains of the National Teams will have preference.“According to the Allocation Rules (art. 12), Lionel Messi (Argentina) won the Award based on the votes cast by the captains of the men's team,” the tiebreaker rule says.

Not alone, the incredible way Manchester City motivates Erling Haaland

Messi won his third The Best award

In this sense, the Argentine superstar finally won the third The Best award in his career, becoming the player with more The Best awards in history following the trophy creation in 2016, setting the Inter Miami’s player leading the ranking for being the best player in the world on these days.

More news